2013 Iowa State Wrestling Tournament: Replay and Results

Three Waukee High School wrestlers competed in the Iowa State High School Wrestling Tournament, with one placing.

Waukee High School had three wrestlers qualify for the Iowa State High School Wrestling Tournament, but all of them fell today in the first round. 

Senior Chris Grow wrestled back through the consolation round to finish in eighth place.

Here are the full round one championship bracket results for the Waukee Warriors:

132 pounds: Brian Dittmer, Southeast Polk, Soph., 9-1 major decision over Chris Grow, Waukee, Sr.

138 pounds: Trey Blaha, Cedar Rapids Prairie, Jr., pins (at 3:56) Troy Gatzionis, Waukee, Sr.

285 pounds: Landon Johnson, Webster City, Sr., 5-2 decision over Ryan Glenn, Waukee, Sr.

Individual Champions, Class 3A

106: Henry Pohlmeyer, Johnston, So., 6-1 decision over Jacob Schwarm, Bettendorf, So.
113: Clayton Eicher, West Des Moines Valley, Sr. 2-1 decision in overtime over Kaz Onoo, Mason City, Jr.
120: Jake Koethe, W.D.M. Valley, Jr. 4-2 decision over John Gioffredi, Indianola, Jr.
126: Fredy Stroker, Bettendorf, So. 16-0 technical fall over Jonathan Eide, W.D.M. Dowling, Sr.
132: Logan Ryan, Bettendorf, Jr., 7-6 decision in overtime over Bryce Steiert, Waverly-Shell Rock, So.
138: Jacob Woodard, Bettendorf, So., 15-9 decision over Karsten VanVelsor, Ottumwa, Sr.  145: Bubba Hernandez, Bettendorf, Sr., 4-0 decision over Austin Boyd, Burlington, Sr.  
152: Spencer Derifield, Waverly-Shell Rock, Jr., 9-4 decision over Dawson Nemmers, Western Dubuque, Sr.  
160: Tim Miklus, S.E. Polk, Sr. 11-5 decision over Logan Walkup, Johnston, Sr.
170: Dylan Blackford, Southeast Polk, Sr., 3-1 decision in overtime over Mitch Bowman, North Scott, Jr.  
182: Matt Seabold, Burlington, Sr., 2-1 decision over Kyler Mathews, Waterloo West, Jr. 
195: Marcus Harrington, Waterloo West, Jr., 5-4 decision over Adam Walther, Waverly-Shell Rock, Sr.  
220: Bryce Fisher, Southeast Polk, Sr., 9-4 decision over Gannon Gremmel, Dubuque Hempstead, Fr. 
285: Pedro Gomez, Marshalltown, Sr., 5-2 decision over Zach Renshaw, Council Bluffs Lewis Central, Sr. 

Team champions

3A: Southeast Polk
2A: West Delaware
1A: Alburnett


Jake Marlin, Creston/Orient-Macksburg, Sr., was the 22nd wrestler to win four state titles with a pin at 2:55 of Adam Staudt, Charles City, Sr. in the class 2A championship match at 138 pounds.

Brandon Sorensen, Denver-Tripoli, Sr., was 23rd wrestler to win four state titles with a 7-3 decision over Zach Muller, West Delaware, Sr., in the class 2A championship match at 145 pounds.

Dylan Windield, a junior from Alburnett, pinned his way through the tournament. It was capped with a pin at 6:13 of Jake Haberman, a senior from Clarion, in the class 1A state title match at 160 pounds.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »